The Council is the supreme governing body of the university. It has responsibilities for policy formulation, financial regulation, property control and public relations. It is the employer of labour and in that capacity it appoints all the principal officers except the Vice- Chancellor. All other categories of staff are appointed and promoted on its behalf, but subject to its approval, by two committees, namely the Senior Staff Appointments and Promotions Committee, and the Junior Staff Appointments and Promotions Committee. The Council is headed by a Chairman who is styled as Pro-Chancellor. The functions and composition of Council are as set out in the Principal Law and Statute.

The current council comprises the following members:

  • Prof. Shehu Usman Abdullahi, OFR, mni – Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of Council
  • Prof. Muhammad Tanko, FCPA, FNAA – Vice Chancellor
  • Prof. Abdullahi Musa Ashafa – Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic)
  • Prof. Yohanna Tella – Deputy Vice Chancellor (Administration)
  • Mal. Hussaini Adamu Dikko – Government Appointee
  • Mal. Ibrahim I. Musa – Government Appointee
  • Dr. Myma Belo-Osagie – Government Appointee
  • Pastor Sarah Omakwu – Government Appointee
  • Mrs. Kande Nana Bage – Permanent Secretary, Kaduna State Ministry of Education, Science and Technology
  • Mr. Idris Nyam – Permanent Secretary, Kaduna State Ministry of Finance
  • Alh. Ibrahim Yakasai – Representative of National Universities Commission
  • Prof. Bala Dogo – Representative of Senate
  • Dr. Abubakar Magaji – Representative of Senate
  • Mrs. Talatu Adamu Kuri – Representative of Congregation
  • Mr. Samuel Swanta Manshop – Secretary to Council

The Senate is the supreme authority on all academic matters and is chaired by the Vice-Chancellor. Members of Senate are drawn from among the staff of the university as provided for in the law. Being an internal body, and charged with such responsibilities in the academic sector, the Senate safeguards the principle of academic freedom and the quality of teaching and research.

The Management Committee is a statutory body. It is thus mandatory for the Vice Chancellor to consult it regularly, through holding regular (weekly) meetings before any major decision is reached. This is designed to enhance the democratic process in governance.

The current council comprises the following members:

  • Vice Chancellor – Prof. Muhammad Tanko
  • Deputy Vice Chancellor, Academic – Prof. Abdullahi Musa Ashafa
  • Prof. Abdullahi Musa Ashafa – Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic)
  • Deputy Vice Chancellor, Administration – Prof. Yohanna Tella
  • Registrar – Mr. Samuel Swanta Manshop
  • Bursar – Dr. Ahmad Tijjani Ibrahim
  • University Librarian – Dr. Abdullahi Ibrahim Musa
  • Provost, College of Medicine – Prof. Muhammad Nasiru Sambo
  • Dean, School of Postgraduate Studies – Prof. John Gambo Laah
  • Dean, Faculty of Arts – Dr. Imam Isah Abdulkarim
  • Dean, Faculty of Science – Dr. Abubakar Magaji (Ag.)
  • Dean, Faculty of Social and Management Sciences – Dr. Zubairu Tajjo Abdallah (Ag.)
  • Dean, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences – Prof. Ben Chindo
  • Dean, Faculty of Agriculture – Dr. Ibrahim Abbas Sodangi
  • Dean, Faculty of Environmental Sciences – Dr. Ezekiel Nghai Suleman
  • Dean, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences – Dr.Yama Oshozokhai
  • Dean, Faculty of Clinical Sciences – Dr. Husain Yahya
  • Director, School of Continuing Education – Mrs. Maryam Ahmed
  • Director, College of Basic Studies – Dr. Sadiq Garba Abdu
  • Director, General Studies Unit – Dr. Amos John Akpokos
  • Director, Entrepreneurship Research & Development Centre – Dr. Helen Afang Andow
  • Director, Information & Comm. Tech. – Dr. Fatima Shehu Kabir (Ag)
  • Director, Academic Planning – Dr. Yusha’u Ibrahim Ango
  • Director, Physical Planning and Dev. – Arc. Yusuf Mohammed Ashiru
  • Director, University Advancement – Dr. Maharazu Ibrahim
  • Director, Consultancy Services Unit – Dr. Maryam Abdu
  • Director, Health Services Unit – Dr. Yakubu Billyu
  • Chief Security Officer – Col. Abdullahi Ibrahim (rtd)

The Congregation is the forum for all academic and non-academic members of staff who qualify by the provision of the law, to meet, express and discuss views on the affairs of the University in general: for the attention of the Administration or for onward transmission to the Senate or Council.

The Convocation is a forum which allows members of the university community who qualify and the alumni of the university to meet and conduct the business assigned to it by the University statute.

The Congregation and Convocation are entitled to elect a representative each to Council, while the Congregation also elects representatives to Senate.

The Council and Senate have statutory committees of their own as set out in the schedule and they can also create other committees administratively.

The University Consultative Committee is one other body which is provided for, and which is an innovation.