The academic structure of the university is based on Faculties and Departments, General Studies Unit and College of Basic Studies, College of Health Sciences, in addition there is a school of Postgraduate Studies.

The University currently comprises the following Faculties at the Kaduna Campus:

  1. Faculty of Arts
  2. Faculty of Science
  3. Faculty of Social and Management Sciences
  4. College of Health Sciences
  5. Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  6. College of Basic Studies
  7. Faculty of Agriculture
  8. Faculty of Environmental Sciences
  9. Entrepreneurship Research and Development Centre


Faculty of Arts                                                                      

Department                                                         Programme

Arabic                                                                          B.A. Arabic

Christian Religious Studies                                     B.A. CRS

English and Drama                                                   B.A. English

French                                                                          B.A. French

History                                                                         B.A. History

Islamic Studies                                                           B.A. Islamic Studies

Nigerian Langs, and Lings.                                      B.A. Hausa

Faculty of Science

Department                                                         Programme

Biochemistry                                                              B.Sc. Biochemistry

Biological Sciences                                                    B.Sc. Biology

Chemistry                                                                    B.Sc. Chemistry B.

                                                                                       B.Sc. Ind. Chemistry

Geography                                                                   B.Sc. Geography

Mathematical Sciences                                             B.Sc. Mathematics

Computer Science                                                      B.Sc. Comp. Science

Microbiology                                                               B.Sc. Microbiology

Physics                                                                          B.Sc. Physics

Faculty of Social and Management Sciences

Department                                                          Programme

Accounting                                                                  B.Sc. Accounting

Business Administration                                          B.Sc. Business Admin.

Economics                                                                   B.Sc. Economics

Mass Communication                                               B.Sc. Mass Comm.

Political Science                                                         B.Sc. Pol. Science

Sociology                                                                      B.Sc. Sociology

Faculty of Medicine

Medicine                                                                     MBBS

Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Department                                                         Programme

Pharmacy                                                                    B. Pharm.

At the Kafanchan Campus we have the following Faculties:

Faculty of Agriculture

Department                                                          Programme

Agriculture                                                                  B.Agric.

Faculty of Environmental Sciences

Department                                                          Programme

Architecture                                                                B.Sc. Arc.

Environmental Management                                  B.Sc.    Env.Mgt.

Estate Management                                                  B.Sc.    Estate Mgt.

Quantity Surveying                                                    B.Sc.    Quantity Surveying


To graduate a student must undergo 4-6 years of study depending on the course of study. A four-year degree programme could attract a maximum of six years for graduation, while a six year degree programme could attract a maximum of nine years for graduation. The University requires that minimum course work load must be met before a student graduates. To be awarded the first degree, a student must complete the following credit units depending on the faculty and course of study.

4-year degree programme-minimum of 120 credit units

6-year degree programme – minimum of 180 credit units