The Council

The Council is the supreme governing body of the university. It has responsibilities for policy formulation, financial regulation, property control and public relations. It is the employer of labour and in that capacity it appoints all the principal officers except the Vice-Chancellor. All other categories of staff are appointed and promoted on its behalf, but subject to its approval, by two committees, namely the Senior Staff Appointments and Promotions Committee, and the Junior Staff Appointment and Promotions Committee. The council is headed by a Chairman, who is the university Pro-Chancellor. The functions and composition of council are as set out in the Principal Law and Statute. The current council comprises the following members:

  • Prof. Shehu Usman Abdullahi, OFR, mni - Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of Council
  • Prof. Muhammad Tanko, FCPA, FNAA - Vice Chancellor
  • Prof. Abdullahi Musa Ashafa - Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic)
  • Prof. Yohanna Tella - Deputy Vice Chancellor (Administration)
  • Mal. Hussaini Adamu Dikko - Government Appointee
  • Mal. Ibrahim I. Musa - Government Appointee
  • Dr. Myma Belo-Osagie - Government Appointee
  • Pastor Sarah Omakwu - Government Appointee
  • Mrs. Kande Nana Bage - Permanent Secretary, Kaduna State Ministry of Education, Science and Technology
  • Mr. Idris Nyam - Permanent Secretary, Kaduna State Ministry of Finance
  • Alh. Ibrahim Yakasai - Representative of National Universities Commission
  • Prof. Bala Dogo - Representative of Senate
  • Dr. Abubakar Magaji - Representative of Senate
  • Mrs. Talatu Adamu Kuri - Representative of Congregation
  • Mr. Samuel Swanta Manshop - Secretary to Council