The administrative structure of the University provides for a mode of governance through the main governing bodies and the principal officers and other officers. It also provides for a Committee System of management. The academic sector is organized into departments and units. Other departments in the University are arranged in hierarchies such that authority and responsibilities are shown specifying who is responsible for specific functions and which officer is responsible to whom, in the area of decision-making and implementation. The administration of the university is autonomous and democratic. It is an administration which provides for adequate consultations and consensus in policy formulation, openness and accountability in policy implementation.


It ensures justice and fair play to all staff and students. This applies to the academic, administrative and financial operations of the university.  The governing law has provided enough legal framework to cover the university in all its activities.



In order to design an administrative structure which would afford the university administrative support for a  democratic and just mode of governance, the Technical Committee for the Establishment of the University reviewed the models in use in the United States, Britain, continental Europe and Nigeria, and decided to recommend the Nigerian  model since it works well within the Nigerian milieu, but with modifications which are designed to enhance the quality of administration and to obviate a common concern that the Nigerian model tends to concentrate power in-the-handsof the Vice-Chancellor.


The administrative structure of the University is, therefore, based on the traditional four governing bodies of Council, Senate, Congregation and Convocation. Two innovations have, however, been introduced here. One is the institution of a Management Committee as a statutory body which the Vice- Chancellor is bound to consult regularly in the discharge of his functions. The other is the University Consultative Committee which is also statutory, and which consists of the representatives of the academic and non-academic staff as well as the junior staff and the students sitting together on a regular basis to discuss matters of common interest. This will answer the common criticism, of lack of adequate dialogue between university administrators and members of their communities.


  • The Council is the supreme governing body of the university. It has responsibilities for policy formulation, financial regulation, property control and public relations. It is the employer of labour and in that capacity it appoints all the principal officers except the Vice- Chancellor. All other categories of staff are appointed and promoted on its behalf, but subject to its approval, by two committees, namely the Senior Staff Appointments and Promotions Committee, and the Junior Staff Appointments and Promotions Committee. The Council is headed by a Chairman who is styled as Pro-Chancellor. The functions and composition of Council are as set out in the Principal Law and Statute.


  • The Senate is the supreme authority on all academic matters and is chaired by the Vice-Chancellor. Members of Senate are drawn from among the staff of the university as provided for in the law. Being an internal body, and charged with such responsibilities in the academic sector, the Senate safeguards the principle of academic freedom and the quality of teaching and research.


  • The Management Committee is a statutory body. It is thus mandatory for the Vice Chancellor to consult it regularly, through holding regular (weekly) meetings before any major decision is reached. This is designed to enhance the democratic process in governance.


  • The Congregation is the forum for all academic and non-academic members of staff who qualify by the provision of the law, to meet, express and discuss views on the affairs of the University in general: for the attention of the Administration or for onward transmission to the Senate or Council.


  • The Convocation is a forum which allows members of the university community who qualify and the alumni of the university to meet and conduct the business assigned to it by the University statute.


  • The Congregation and Convocation are entitled to elect a representative each to Council, while the Congregation also elects representatives to Senate.


  • The Council and Senate have statutory committees of their own as set out in the schedule and they can also create other committees administratively.


  • The University Consultative Committee is one other body which is provided for, and which is an innovation.



The Executive Governor of Kaduna State is the visitor to the University. His powers to order a visitation and the frequency of such visitations are provided for in section 17 of the Principal Law.


The Principal Officers of the University are:


  • The Chancellor: He is the titular head of the            University and he presides over convocation ceremonies convened for the purpose of the conferment of degrees and other academic honours.


  • The      Pro-Chancellor: He is the Chairman of Council and that of the Finance and General Purposes committee.


  • The Vice-Chancellor: He is the Chief Executive and Chief Academic Officer of the University. He is responsible for the overall administration and performance of the University.


  • The Deputy Vice-Chancellor: He is appointed by Council on the recommendation of the Senate which itself receives a recommendation from the Vice-Chancellor. He helps the Vice-Chancellor in areas assigned to him.


  • The Registrar is the Chief Administrative Officer, Secretary to Council, Senate and Congregation. He is responsible to the Vice-Chancellor for the day-to-day administration of the University.


  • The Bursar is the Chief Finance Officer responsible to the Vice-Chancellor for the management and control to the university finances.


  • The University Librarian is responsible to the Chancellor for the development and management of the University library and the delivery of library services to all departments and units of the university.



This term is usually used to refer to the tripod of the offices of the Vice-Chancellor, the Registrar and the Bursar.


  • The Vice-Chancellor’s Office: This houses the units which, are directly under the supervision of the Vice Chancellor and not being full departments on their own . These include Security Information, Information and Protocol, and Internal Audit.


  • The Registrar’s Office: accommodates various sections to service the secretariat of the Council, Senate, University Tenders Board, etc. as well as to service various academic operations, establishment matters, student services, etc.


  • The Bursar’s Office: otherwise known as the Bursary, maintains the various financial units and functions as set out in the Financial Procedure Manual of the University.


  • Committee of Deans: The Committee of Deans serves in an advisory capacity to the Vice Chancellor on the implementations of the University budget, staff training and development, conference attendance, University seminars and workshops and all matters of policy that deal with day-to-day management of the University.



The importance of the Committee System in governance of a University cannot be overemphasized. A system in which democratic governance is necessary to support the liberal nature of academic work, to supervise intellectuals and their pursuits, to order the life style of the youthful students and to ensure overall harmony, broad participation of the members of the community in administration becomes vital and that is what the Committee System involves. It gives everybody the opportunity to participate, by himself or through his representatives, in the process of consensus building and policy formulation and implementation.